Friendship, journey, self-acceptance, Uncategorized

Sweatin’ with the Oldies…

sweat1 

Before the Insanity exercise craze, before boot camp, palates and Yoga fitness was popular, there was a man name Richard Simmons. Baby Boomers all over the world know him well. He was one of the first to introduce the concept that exercise and the sweat that is produced as a result, could be fun. Out of this concept came his very successful, Sweatin’ to the Oldies series. What a great idea! Dancing to familiar, beloved songs and burning calories at the same time.

As I laid awake 3:00 in the morning, dripping wet without having exerted any energy at all, I began to think about how I could have my own DVD series or TV show, but I would call it,“Sweatin’ with the Oldies! The shows concept would be based on the Titus 2 concept of teaching women how to walk out their hormonal journey together, on purpose and having fun in the process.

There is really something comedic about how for no apparent reason you wake up in the middle of the night and wake the person sleeping next to you as you swoosh the covers off and on as you alternate between hot and cold, finally ending up looking like a wet dog that someone  has just sprayed with a garden hose. Your freshly styled hair dripping wet completing the Shaggy Dog motif.

Image

Hormones are a very real part of the journey of women, young and old. ( Men have hormonal issues as well… But that’s for another discussion) 🙂 When not properly educated regarding these things, hormones and the roller coaster effects they have on women can be a bit intimidating. When your heart starts to race for no apparent reason, we are sure that a heart attack is not far behind. So many symptoms, so little time.

Although reading about these things is certainly helpful, there is nothing like connecting with another women who has been where you are going. Like planning a great vacation, they can tell you all about the special places not talked about in the vacation brochures. A Titus 2 woman who is committed to listening and sharing is invaluable.

Older women teaching younger women to live wisely and pure…

Titus 2:5

When I was a young woman, I used to pray that God would send me an older woman who would talk with me, listen to me, and laugh with me – to tell me that it would all be fine in the end. I wanted someone to tell me that the crazies of my life were all a part of the journey.

From the onset of menses, to the post menopausal period, woman need one another. We can help each other by sharing stories and strategies to get through our various seasons with humor and dignity, never apologizing for who we are in the moment, but always striving to get better.

The bible says, two are better than one  –  Ecc. 4:9

As far as night sweats go, I’ve made a decision that I don’t want to go there anymore.

Only day sweats please… Preferably on the beach, with a cool glass of iced tea!

Image

7 thoughts on “Sweatin’ with the Oldies…”

  1. I love it…especially since this is the phase of life I have begun. Thank God for you in my life my Titus 2 woman.

  2. LOL! I think every woman should have someone to walk with them just to reassure them that they are not crazy. Like, “You want to stab the men in your life too? Oh I am so relieved.” (P.S. you’re only crazy if you actually give in to this urge).

  3. Being one that does not embrace unexplained occurrences, I am beginning to understand how unique and masterful that God has made each of us. On the onset of these mystical occurrences fear and anxiety set in, but shortly after I begin to pray to the Father, then I experience calm and comfort. It is a blessing to know that I am not alone, and I have sisters who experience these times also and have similar stories.

  4. Intersting how both pastor’s blogs go hand in hand. Perhaps I should say God inspired. Our hormones can trigger our emotions. I thank God for the places in Him he allows us to run to as well as the places He created on earth that we can run to, like the beach. I ran to Him in Valley Forge and in June I will be running to Him again in Rehoboth.

Leave a comment